PEARL CITY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting February 22, 2024

President Bremmer called the Regular Scheduled Meeting to order at 6:30PM.

After Roll Call the Board approved the February 22, 2024 agenda.

The Board recognized guests and public comments were allowed. There were no public comments

The Board approved the Consent Agenda consisting of the minutes from the January 17, 2024 regular session. The bills and payroll through February 16, 2024 for \$470,735.66 were also approved. The District Consolidated Grant was approved. Course approval was also given to Mr. Allen.

Communications:

New Business:

- 1. The School Board heard the first reading of the 2024-2025 District Calendar
- 2. The school administration presented changes to the Parent/Student Handbook and the School Safety plan. Final readings will be in March
- 3. The School Board approved the Certification of Hazardous Transportation Conditions on two of the areas in the town of Pearl City.
- 4. The Superintendent and the School Board discussed moving forward with applying for a Community Eligibility Provision. This would allow all students in the district to receive free/reduced breakfast and lunch.
- 5. The School Board approved Brent Smith as Bass Fishing Coach
- 6. The School Board approved the following Spring Volunteers:
 - a. Tim Pauley Darrel Pauley, Zach Lieb- Baseball
 - b. Dan Row, Brianna Ensor- Softball
 - c. Bass Fishing- Wayne Crackenberger
 - d. Musical- Bailey Schubert
 - e. JH Football- Todd Marsh
 - f. Girls Track- Brooke Hass
- 7. The School Board approved hiring the following coaches for the 2024-2025 school year:
 - a. HS Cheerleading- Brittany Welch
 - b. ASST. VB- Parker Lundberg
 - c. JH Football- Zach Hook
 - d. HS Football- Chris Dertz
- 8. Danielle Kempel was approved as the new 1st grade teacher
- 9. Laura Spillane was approved as the new HS Math teacher
- 10. The School Board approved Sara Pena as new PE/Health teacher
- 11. The School Board approved the resignation of PreK teacher Sarah Alongi
- 12. The following teachers were approved for tenure:
 - a. Janet Rauch, Derrick Allen, Hannah Maurer, Lexie Collins, Sarah Boyer, Devin Martens
- 13. A 4% salary increase was approved for the Principals and all Non-Certified Staff for the 2024-2025 school year.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:42pm